The National Aphasia Association Inc, along with the Academy of Aphasia is pleased to announce another year of the The Barbara Martin Aphasia Research Grants.


These special awards honor Barbara Martin’s leadership and strong commitment to support persons with aphasia in their pursuit to live meaningful and fulfilled lives. Barbara’s service as Board Chair of the NAA and her initiatives within the Burke Rehabilitation Hospital Communications Group were responsible for creating strong advocacy programs for this community. Barbara passed away on March 14th 2021, leaving a legacy of service, compassion and a shining example of how we can, all together, increase national awareness of aphasia.


We invite clinicians and researchers who do not have current or prior external funding (e.g. NIH R01) to submit proposals in line with the mission of the NAA in competition for two aphasia research grants of $10,000 each. At least one award funded will be a clinical research grant.


These grants are designed to help further aphasia research activities by funding one-year, preliminary studies that could launch larger-scale aphasia research studies. Projects can be focused on studying prevalence, prognosis, assessment, or treatment of aphasia.



  1. Investigators must meet the following criteria to be eligible for the NAA/AOA Barbara Martin Research Grant.
    The investigator must be a clinician who works with people with aphasia or a researcher whose work focuses on aphasia (A PhD is not required for the primary investigator).
  2. The investigator must not yet have received external research funding for an NIH R01 or equivalent grant from other funding entities and must not have received a K08 or K23 award; prior internal university funding is allowed. The training grant NIH F32 does not disqualify an investigator from this grant.
  3. The proposal must be for research to be initiated, not currently in progress. The study should be completed in one year and the scope should align with the funding amount.


The Barbara Martin Award will present funds equal to $10,000 US for the single year study period.


Important Dates:

  • Applications to be submitted by July 1st, 2024
  • Announcements of Awards will be made in September 1st, 2024



To apply please go to the NAA Research Portal



All applications will be reviewed by a dedicated committee and ratings presented to the Research Committee for final determination and announcement of award recipients.


Prior Award Recipients:


  • Alexander Swiderski, a Ph.D. student at the University of Pittsburgh and The Center for Neural Basis of Cognition, Carnegie Mellon University.
  • Sarah Grace Dalton, Ph.D., CCC-SLP (Marquette University), and Brielle Stark, Ph.D. (Indiana University Bloomington)



  • Ellyn A. Riley, Ph.D., CCC-SLP (Syracuse University)
  • Bijoyaa Mohapatra, Ph.D., CCC-SLP (Louisiana State University)


For more information on these special grant opportunities, please email